Welcome to our website!

The AWS-Institute for digitized products and processes (AWSi) was founded in 2014 to foster research and innovation. The Institute focuses on digitization of economy and society. Digitized Consulting, Blended Learning, Industry 4.0, Digitized Business Models and Processes are our main topics.

The AWSi is an independent research institute that committed itself to develop new technologies and think ahead business models. That’s why we place great value on combining research with innovation and entrepreneurship.We are located at the campus of Saarland University, which is one of the most renowned German universities in computer science.

Our topics

Analytics & Business Diagnostics

For almost every company using information systems, like ERP systems, have become essential. But these information systems create huge amounts of data like master, inventory or transaction data. These data may contain unknown and potentially useful knowledge which needs to be extracted and made usable. As classical data analysis is reaching its limit, the topic of Big Data is pushing forward to analysize the huge number of structured as well as unstructed data produced by any information system.

The AWS Institute transfers Data Analytics methods into operational software providing information and knowledge from pure data. The software helps companies to find interesting information from the collected data.

 

 

Consulting 4.0

Consulting has initiated, enforced and guided the digitization of other branches for years. But for now, they almost did not adopt digitization to their own industry, their own level of digitization is still low. We are working on digitizing consultants, consulting processes and consulting delivery. In those areas, we conceive new approaches and implement them into software systems, e.g. an eConsulting Store or a Self-Service Consulting System, which constitute promising advancements for the future consultancy. Both research works and prototypes have already resulted from the Institute’s works and provide the basis for the industry’s digital evolution.

 

Teaching and Learning 4.0

Digitization changes teaching and learning and offers vast potentials especially in this area. Teachers and learners at schools, universities and vocational educational offers can benefit equally from new, digital educational concepts. Computer-assisted learning permits to increase the learning motivation and to adapt learning content and pace individually to personal demand and learning type. The AWSi concentrates on research in the area of digital education and university 4.0. We develop scenarios that foster the organizational change.

 

Industry 4.0

The fourth digital revolution occupies and challenges the whole industry branch. New technologies like IoT, 3D printing, predictive analytics and cyberphysic systems have to be used to steady the profitability and thus the competitiveness of the future industrial enterprise. Thereby it is inevitable to expedite research in the different topic areas. In addition to the basic research in the area of I4.0 by founder Prof. A.-W. Scheer the Institute deals intensively with the thematic focuses 3D printing and 3D configurators.

 

Business Processes 4.0

The claim “The innovation is in the processes” summarizes compactly on what the AWS-Institute is working. One of the main tasks of future-oriented operations research is to analyse business processes and to create disruptive innovations. We create tools to accelerate the digitization of business processes. Furthermore, we conceive methodologies for business process management that are driven by digital technologies such as case-by-case optimization or machine learning based improvements.

 

Business Models 4.0

The digital transformation changes existing business models and creates new ones. Companies of all industries are forced to overthink their traditional business models, to adapt them or even to develop completely new business models. The AWS-Institute investigates how digital business models can be described  and which features they display compared with traditional business models. Developing new concepts and methods which enable the digital transformation is one of the institute’s main tasks. We create tools and systems that function as essential requirement for the transformation of existing and the developing of new business models.

The founder

The professor of information systems and business informatics, inventor of ARIS-concept and successful entrepreneur August-Wilhelm Scheer founded the AWSi to advance the combination of research, teaching and entrepreneurship and hence to strengthen the german software industry.

Learn more about Prof. Scheer at his Blog (in German)
null

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer

“The institute will accelerate the innovation chain, successfully transforming research into marketproven products”

Contact information:

AWS-Institute for digitized products
and processes

Address
Uni-Campus D 5 1
66123 Saarbrücken
Germany

e-Post Address
info@aws-institut.epost.de

Phone
+49 681 96777-0

E-Mail
info@aws-institut.de

How to find us:

Willkommen auf der Webseite des AWS-Instituts!

Das AWS-Institut für digitale Produkte und Prozesse (AWSi) fördert Innovationen und anwendungsorientierten Forschungstransfer auf internationalem Niveau. Inhaltlicher Schwerpunkt des Instituts ist die graduelle und disruptive Digitalisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Als eigenständiges Forschungsinstitut arbeiten wir daran, neue Technologien zu entwickeln und Geschäftsmodelle vorauszudenken.

Dabei legen wir größten Wert auf die enge Verzahnung von Forschung, Innovation und Praxis. Wir sind am Campus der Universität des Saarlandes angesiedelt, eine der besten deutschen Universitäten im Bereich Informatik. In direkter Nachbarschaft findet sich das CISPA Helmholtz Zentrum für Informationssicherheit und das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI).

Unsere Themen

Digital Realities
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWSi erforscht die Potenziale von Digital Realities für verschiedenste Branchen. Das Institut entwickelt mögliche Einsatzkonzepte und treibt deren Nutzung in der Praxis voran. „Digital Realities“ beschreibt als Thema die Erweiterung der Realität um virtuelle Komponenten. Es umfasst somit Anwendungen basierend auf Virtual -, Augmented- und Mixed Reality.  Die stetige Optimierung der betreffenden Hardware und die stark steigende gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz eröffnet den Digital Realities zahlreiche Einsatzmöglichkeiten jenseits der Gaming- und Entertainmentbranche.

Consulting 4.0
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWSi arbeitet an Forschungsprojekten und Prototypen, die vielversprechende Weiterentwicklungen für die Unternehmensberatung der Zukunft darstellen: eConsulting Stores, virtual Consulting, Crowd Consulting, Consult-Yourself Services und eConsulting Social Networks. Damit erstellt das Institut wertvolle Grundlagen für die digitale Evolution der Beraterbranche. Denn Digitalisierung wird in der Unternehmensberatung seit Jahren in Kundenprojekten durchgeführt,
die Beratung selbst hat sich aber bislang dem digitalen Wandel entzogen.

Lehren und Lernen 4.0
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWSi beschäftigt sich intensiv mit Forschung im Bereich der digitalen Bildung und der Hochschule 4.0. Das Institut entwickelt Szenarien, um künftige Umbrüche durch E-Learning Innovationen zu identifizieren. Lehrende und Lernende an Schulen, Hochschulen und beruflichen Bildungseinrichtungen können von digitalen Bildungskonzepten gleichermaßen profitieren. Digital unterstütztes Lernen ermöglicht es, die Lernmotivation zu steigern. Lerninhalte und Lerntempo lassen sich individuell an persönliche Bedürfnisse und unterschiedliche Lerntypen anpassen.

Industrie 4.0
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Die vierte digitale Revolution ist ein Thema, welches aktuell die Industriebranche allumfassend beschäftigt und fordert. Technologische Errungenschaften wie IOT, 3D-Druck, Predictive Analytics und Cyberphysische Systeme gilt es zu nutzen, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit und somit die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Industriebetriebes der Zukunft sicherzustellen. Dabei ist es unabdingbar, Forschung in den verschiedensten Themenfelder voranzutreiben. Neben der strategischen Grundlagenforschung im Themenfeld Industrie 4.0 durch den Gründer Prof. A.-W. Scheer befasst sich das Institut intensiv mit den thematischen Schwerpunkten 3D-Druck und 3D-Konfiguratoren.

Geschäftsprozesse 4.0
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWSi betreibt zukunftsorientierte Unternehmensforschung. Dazu analysiert das Institut Geschäftsprozesse und kreiert disruptive Innovationen durch passende Veränderungen der Prozessstruktur: Die Entwicklung neuer Tools, um die Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen zu beschleunigen, ist eine Kernkompetenz des Institutes. Hier entstehen Methodologien im Bereich Geschäftsprozessmanagement, die durch digitale Technologien voran getrieben werden,
wie z.B. case-by-case optimization oder auf machine learning basierende Verbesserungen.

Geschäftsmodelle 4.0
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWS-Institut entwickelt neue Konzepte und Methoden, Tools und Systeme zur digitalen Transformation bestehender und zur Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodellen. Die Digitalisierung verändert bestehende Geschäftsmodelle und schafft neue. Unternehmen aller Branchen sind dazu gezwungen, ihre bestehenden Geschäftsmodelle zu überdenken, sie anzupassen oder ganz neue Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln.

Analytics & Business Diagnostics
www.pdf24.org    Sende Artikel als PDF   

Das AWSi überführt Data Analytics Methoden in einsatzfähige Software. Das Institut ermöglicht damit, Wissen aus Daten zu gewinnen und die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in die Praxis umzusetzen. Denn Informationssysteme wie ERP Systeme lassen riesige Datenbestände aus Stammdaten, Bestandsdaten und Transaktionsdaten entstehen. Diese Daten können bisher nicht bekanntes und potenziell nützliches Wissen enthalten, das es zu extrahieren und zu nutzen gilt. Dabei spielt neben der klassischen Datenanalyse das Thema Big Data eine immer wesentlichere Rolle.

Der Gründer

August-Wilhelm Scheer ist Professor für Wirtschaftsinformatik, Erfinder des ARIS-Konzeptes und erfolgreicher Unternehmer. Mit der Gründung des AWSi geht er einen weiteren Schritt, um Forschung, Lehre und innovative Anwendungen eng miteinander zu verzahnen. Das Institut ist gemeinsam mit den Unternehmen der Scheer Holding auf dem Campus der Universität des Saarlandes beheimatet, um damit den Software-Standort Deutschland zu stärken.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Prof. Scheer auf seinem Blog
null

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer

“Die Arbeiten des Instituts sollen die Innovationskette von der Grundlagenforschung bis zur erfolgreichen Produktentwicklung beschleunigen”

Kontaktdaten:

AWS-Institut für digitale Produkte
und Prozesse gGmbH

Adresse
Uni-Campus D 5 1
66123 Saarbrücken

e-Post Adresse
info@aws-institut.epost.de

Telefon
+49 681 96777-0

E-Mail
info@aws-institut.de

So finden Sie uns: