1

SmartHands aims to implement digital media in professional education and training for the health professions.

2

Teaching scenarios for digital media use in the domain of manual medicine and therapy are developed and integrated into a learning platform

3

With innovative technologies such as mixed reality glasses, smart wearables, haptic and brain-machine interfaces, the diverse innovative application possibilities of SmartHands are made possible.

Principal Investigator

Dirk Werth

Dr. Dirk Werth

managing director and
scientific director

Contact Person

Florian Beier

dr Florian Beier

E-Mail:  florian.beier@aws-institut.de
Mobilephone: + 49 681 93511 318

Short & to the point

What?

These problems are addressed in the project with a teaching platform which, as an eLearning web solution, depicts three innovative pilot teaching scenarios and thus trains training and further education staff in the use of smart-device-based media. The constructed platform will be modularly expandable with further smart-device-based teaching scenarios. The optimal transfer of specialist knowledge and efficient use in subsequent learning scenarios are evaluated and researched.

How?

Because both the theoretical learning of real medical cases, as well as the traditional learning on dummies or simulated patients, does not correspond to reality and therefore only partially imparts the necessary practical skills. An improvement in teaching through digital media can therefore be expected, which can be more immersive and closer to real scenarios and can depict them completely. In particular, haptics and visual reactions of the simulated patients are fields in which such potentials are currently unfolding using new smart-device-based media.

Initial Situation

Graphic of the technical architecture of the SmartHands teaching platform

The high demand for specialists in manual medicine leads to a high need for training of the training and further education staff, which also creates opportunities for the digitalization of the specialist area. However, there are no validated teaching scenarios for the integration of digital media into existing learning and examination formats that inform teachers about the possibilities and explanations of technical use cases.

So far, there have been no exact specifications in manual medicine and therapy teaching with regard to diagnostic and therapeutic techniques, e.g. B. how often and with which objective should be practiced. The needs and practice-oriented orientation and the improvement of tactile and fine motor skills suffer as a result. As soon as feedback on individual learning progress is available, it can be included in order to adapt the teaching didactics individually. Only then can overall improved framework conditions for the implementation of the techniques in patient care be assumed.

health workers

5,7 million

High demand

of professionals

The August-Wilhelm Scheer Institute is developing the following basic component:

pilot scenarios. The integration of haptic learning and 360-degree videos in three different mixed reality applications is addressed. We develop the implementation of the exercise scenarios, as well as the software and the interaction of mixed reality with the eLearning platform.

interview with dr cand. rer. medical Lysann Kasprick Medical Education Expert:

This research project has been completed.

Partners

Logo University of Leipzig
Logo of the University Hospital Halle
Logo ASH Berlin

Funding notice

171215_new-BMBF-Logo-300x207

The Smarthands project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.
Funding code: 01PG20006C
Running time: 01.05.2020 – 30.04.2023

1

SmartHands hat das Ziel, digitale Medien in die beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung für die Gesundheitsberufe zu implementieren.

2

Dabei werden Lehrszenarien zur digitalen Mediennutzung in der Domäne der manuellen Medizin und Therapie entwickelt und in eine Lernplattform integriert

3

Mit innovativen Technologien wie Mixed Reality Brillen, Smart Wearables, haptische und Brain-Machine-Interfaces, werden die vielfältigen innovativen Einsatzmöglichkeiten von SmartHands ermöglicht.

Principal Investigator

Dirk Werth Geschäftsführer August-Wilhelm Scheer Institut

Dr. Dirk Werth

Geschäftsführer und
wissenschaftlicher Direktor

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Florian-Beier

Dr. Florian Beier

Mail: florian.beier@aws-institut.de
Telefon: +49 681 93511 318

Kurz & Bündig

Was?

Adressiert werden diese Probleme im Projekt mit einer Lehrplattform, welche als eLearning Weblösung drei innovative Pilotlehrszenarien abbildet und dadurch Aus- und Weiterbildungspersonal im Lehreinsatz smart-device-basierter Medien schult. Die konstruierte Plattform wird modular um weitere smart-device-basierte Lehrszenarien erweiterbar sein. Evaluiert und erforscht werden dabei die optimale Fachwissensvermittlung und der effiziente Einsatz in anschließenden Lernszenarien.

Wie?

Denn sowohl das theoretische Lernen von realen medizinischen Fällen, als auch das traditionelle Lernen an Dummies oder Simulationspatienten, entspricht nicht der Realität und vermittelt daher nur anteilig notwendige praktische Fertigkeiten. Es ist daher eine Verbesserung der Lehre durch Digitale Medien zu erwarten, welche immersiver und näher an Realszenarien heranreichen und diese vollständig abbilden kann. Insbesondere Haptik und visuelle Reaktion der simulierten Patienten sind Felder, auf denen sich derartige Potenziale aktuell mittels neuer smart-device-basierter Medien entfalten.

Ausgangssituation

Grafik zur Technischen Architektur der Lehrplattform SmartHands

Die hohe Nachfrage nach den Fachkräften der manuellen Medizin führt zu einem hohen Ausbildungsbedarf des Aus- und Weiterbildungspersonals, was auch Möglichkeiten zur Digitalisierung des Fachgebietes schafft. Es gibt jedoch keine validierten Lehrszenarien für die Integration digitaler Medien in bestehende Lern- und Prüfungsformate, die die Lehrkräfte über die Möglichkeiten und Erläuterungen technischer Anwendungsfälle informieren.

Bisher existieren in der manualmedizinischen und -therapeutischen Lehre keine exakten Vorgaben bezogen auf die diagnostischen und therapeutischen Techniken, z. B. wie oft und mit welcher Zielstellung praktisch geübt werden soll. Darunter leidet die bedarfs- und praxisorientierte Ausrichtung und die Verbesserung taktiler und feinmotorischer Fertigkeiten. Sobald Rückmeldungen über individuelle Lernfortschritte vorliegen, können diese einbezogen werden, um die Lehrdidaktik individuell anzupassen. Erst dann kann insgesamt von verbesserten Rahmenbedingungen zur Implementierung der Techniken in der Patientenversorgung ausgegangen werden.

Gesundheitspersonal

5,7 Millionen

Hohe Nachfrage

an Fachkräften

Das August-Wilhelm Scheer Institut erarbeitet folgenden grundlegenden Bestandteil:

Pilotszenarien. Adressiert wird die Integration von haptischem Lernen und 360-Grad-Videos in drei verschiedenen Mixed-Reality-Applikationen. Dabei entwickeln wir die Umsetzung der Übungsszenarien, sowie die Software und das Zusammenspiel der Mixed Reality mit der eLearning Plattform.

Interview mit Dr. cand. rer. med. Lysann Kasprick Expertin für Medizinpädagogik:

Förderhinweis

Das Projekt Smarthands ist gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.
Förderkennzeichen: 01PG20006C
Laufzeit: 01.05.2020 – 30.04.2023