Thesis - Smart Quality (m/f/d)

Thesis/final thesis: Conception and creation of a key performance indicator system for evaluating the recyclability of materials

Your options in the Smart Quality Lab

The aim of this thesis is to a) design and b) develop a material evaluation system in terms of recyclability. Thematically, this thesis is in the area of ​​the digital product passport, which will be mandatory for all products across the EU in the future and is considered a core element of the circular economy. As part of a research project, we analyze and optimize the material composition of a product with regard to its recyclability and, on this basis, create a digital sustainability passport as transparent proof of the product's recyclability. Against this background, this thesis first identifies the parameters relevant to the recyclability of a material (e.g. theoretical chemical suitability for recycling, contaminating additives, sortability, reusability, etc.) and then develops an evaluation scheme (quantitative key figure system). For this purpose, the scientific state of the art in the area of ​​material recycling must be viewed and taken into account. Building on this, the relevant parameters must finally be developed for the materials used in the product (research & interviews with recycling companies) in order to validate and fill the evaluation system developed.

You have the opportunity to work on the topic we suggested above in the area of ​​Smart Quality or to develop a new idea for a bachelor's or master's thesis together with us. We are also always open to your own ideas for theses in our subject areas.

You will be supported by our interdisciplinary and international team and will gain insights into the application-oriented research at the August Wilhelm Scheer Institute. 

That awaits you

  • An innovative environment with a wide range of opportunities for personal and professional development: With us, you learn to take on responsibility early on and collect important skills for your future career
  • Challenging, forward-looking projects and innovative topics in interesting industries
  • Diverse design options and space for creativity and testing your own ideas
  • Working in a motivated and dynamic team in an institute with a start-up character and flat hierarchies
  • Flexible working hours, possibility for mobile work and many other benefits

 

Who we are

At the August-Wilhelm Scheer Institute, bright minds from different backgrounds come together to jointly develop digital innovations and business models of tomorrow. Our vision: We put research on the road. That's why we work on innovative, meaningful and sustainable technologies and business models in close cooperation with the users. At the interface between research and practice, we think ahead to the digital solutions of the future. And that is exactly where there is room for you and your ideas. Our motto: strengthen strengths. Our competence: developing potential. And that's why we're looking for you! We like it individual, interdisciplinary and innovative. Together we will put your talent in the right place.

Do you want to become a future designer? Then become part of our team!


Sven Wawra
Human Resources Manager +49 681 93511136

That awaits you

CHALLENGE

Challenging, forward-looking projects and innovative topics in interesting industries.

ROOM FOR DESIGN

Diverse design options and space for creativity and testing your own ideas.

DEVELOPMENT

An innovative environment with a wide range of opportunities for personal and professional development.

Permanent contract

We hire people because we believe in their personality. That's why our employment contracts are usually open-ended.

Flexible working hours

You can arrange your working hours flexibly with us. Working hours are based on trust. This allows you to adapt your work perfectly to your private life.

Home Office

With us, flexible working hours also include a flexible work location. In addition to working in the office, you can of course also work from home.

Flat hierarchies

Work at eye level in a creative team with a start-up character. We count on your ideas and are looking for real team players. Hierarchies do not play a major role for us.

Company pension and accident insurance

Prevention is an important issue. That is why, in addition to an additional payment for the company pension scheme, we also offer you accident insurance, which gives you perfect protection even after working hours.

Laptop & work cell phone

A high-performance laptop and a stylish smartphone with extensive data volume are our tools of the trade. With us you can also use both privately.

JobTicket & JobRad

If you are traveling by bus or train, you can get a discounted JobTicket* from us. If you prefer a sporty bike ride, we offer the JobRad. With both, you can make optimal use of the good connection to our location on the university campus.

*currently only at the Saarbrücken location

fitness program

If you want to keep fit at the same time as your job, you can benefit from joint fitness events as well as from various cooperations with fitness studios and thus save some money.

Trust working hours

You decide when and how much you work. You can organize your working hours flexibly and thus optimally combine study and work.

Working at eye level

We count on your creative ideas and are looking for real team players. Hierarchies do not play a major role for us. Together we can do more!

Thesis - Smart Quality (m/w/d)

Thesis / Abschlussarbeit: Konzeptionierung und Erstellung eines Kennzahlensystems zur Bewertung der Recyclingfähigkeit von Materialien

Deine Möglichkeiten im Smart Quality Lab

Das Ziel dieser Thesis ist die a) Konzipierung und b) Ausarbeitung eines Materialbewertungssystems im Sinne der Recyclingfähigkeit. Thematisch ist diese Abschlussarbeit im Bereich des Digitalen Produktpasses angesiedelt, welcher künftig EU-weit für alle Produkte verpflichtend ist und als Kernelement der Kreislaufwirtschaft gilt. Im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes analysieren und optimieren wir die Materialzusammensetzung eines Produktes hinsichtlich seiner Recyclingfähigkeit und erstellen auf dieser Basis einen digitalen Nachhaltigkeitspass als transparenten Nachweis der Kreislauffähigkeit des Produkts. Vor diesem Hintergrund sind in dieser Thesis zunächst die für die Recyclingfähigkeit eines Materials relevanten Parameter zu identifizieren (z. B. theoretische chemische Recyclingeignung, verunreinigende Zusatzstoffe, Sortierbarkeit, Wiedereinsetzbarkeit, etc.) und daraus ein Bewertungsschema (quantitatives Kennzahlensystem) zu entwickeln. Hierzu ist der wissenschaftliche State of the Art im Bereich des Materialrecyclings zu sichten und in die Betrachtung mit einzubeziehen. Darauf aufbauend sind schließlich für die im Produkt verbauten Materialien die relevanten Parameter inhaltlich zu erarbeiten (Recherche & Interviews mit Recyclingunternehmen), um das entwickelte Bewertungssystem zu validieren und zu füllen.

Du hast die Möglichkeit, das oben von uns vorgeschlagenes Thema im Bereich Smart Quality zu bearbeiten oder gemeinsam mit uns eine neue Idee für eine Bachelor- oder Masterthesis zu entwickeln. Auch sind wir stets offen für eigene Ideen für Abschlussarbeiten in unseren Themengebieten.

Dabei wirst Du von unserem interdisziplinären und internationalem Team unterstützt und bekommst Einblicke in die anwendungsorientierte Forschung am August-Wilhelm Scheer Institut. 

Das erwartet Dich

  • Ein innovatives Umfeld mit vielfältigen Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen und fachlichen Weiterentwicklung: Bei uns lernst Du schon früh Verantwortung zu übernehmen und sammelst wichtige Skills für Deine zukünftige Karriere
  • Herausfordernde, zukunftsweisende Projekte und innovative Themenfelder in interessanten Branchen
  • Vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und Raum für Kreativität sowie zum Testen Deiner eigenen Ideen
  • Mitarbeit in einem motivierten und dynamischen Team in einem Institut mit Start-up Charakter und flachen Hierarchien
  • Flexible Arbeitszeitgestaltung, Möglichkeit für Mobile Work und viele weitere Benefits

 

Wer wir sind

Im August-Wilhelm Scheer Institut kommen kluge Köpfe unterschiedlicher Backgrounds zusammen, um gemeinsam digitale Innovationen und Geschäftsmodelle von morgen zu entwickeln. Unsere Vision: Wir bringen Forschung auf die Straße. Deshalb arbeiten wir an innovativen, sinnhaften und nachhaltigen Technologien und Geschäftsmodellen und das in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Anwendern. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Forschung und Praxis denken wir die digitalen Lösungen der Zukunft voraus. Und genau da ist Platz für Dich und Deine Ideen. Unser Motto: Stärken stärken. Unsere Kompetenz: Potenziale entfalten. Und dafür suchen wir Dich! Wir mögen es individuell, interdisziplinär und innovativ. Gemeinsam bringen wir Dein Talent an die richtige Stelle.

Du willst Zukunftsgestalter:in werden? Dann werde Teil unseres Teams!


Sven Wawra
Manager Human Resources +49 681 93511136

Das erwartet dich

HERAUSFORDERUNG

Herausfordernde, zukunftsweisende Projekte und innovative Themenfelder in interessanten Branchen.

GESTALTUNGSSPIELRAUM

Vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und Raum für Kreativität sowie zum Testen Deiner eigenen Ideen.

WEITERENTWICKLUNG

Ein innovatives Umfeld mit vielfältigen Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen und fachlichen Weiterentwicklung.

Unbefristeter Vertrag

Wir stellen Personen ein, weil wir von deren Persönlichkeit überzeugt sind. Deswegen sind unsere Arbeitsverträge i.d.R. unbefristet.

Flexible Arbeitszeiten

Deine Arbeitszeiten kannst Du bei uns flexibel gestalten. Bei uns gilt Vertrauensarbeitszeit. Somit kannst du Deine Arbeit perfekt auf dein Privatleben anpassen.

Homeoffice

Zur flexiblen Gestaltung Deiner Arbeitszeiten gehört bei uns auch ein flexibler Arbeitsort. Neben der Arbeit im Büro kannst Du natürlich auch von Zuhause arbeiten.

Flache Hierarchien

Arbeite auf Augenhöhe in einem kreativen Team mit Start-up Charakter. Wir zählen auf Deine Ideen und suchen echte Teamplayer. Hierarchien spielen dabei für uns keine große Rolle.

Betriebliche Altersvorsorge & Unfallversicherung

Vorsorge ist ein wichtiges Thema. Deshalb bieten wir Dir neben einer Zuzahlung zur Betrieblichen Altersvorsorge auch eine Unfallversicherung, über die Du auch über die Arbeitszeit hinaus perfekt abgesichert bist.

Laptop & Diensthandy

Ein leistungsstarker Laptop sowie ein schickes Smartphone mit umfassendem Datenvolumen ist unser Handwerkszeug. Bei uns darfst Du beides auch privat nutzen.

JobTicket & JobRad

Für die Anreise mit Bus und Bahn kannst Du bei uns vergünstigt das JobTicket* beziehen. Wenn Du lieber sportlich mit dem Rad unterwegs bist, bieten wir das JobRad. Mit beidem kannst Du die gute Anbindung unseres Standorts am Uni Campus optimal ausnutzen.

*aktuell nur am Standort Saarbrücken

Fitnessprogramm

Wenn Du Dich parallel zum Job fit halten möchtest, kannst Du neben gemeinsamen Fitness-Events auch von verschiedenen Kooperationen mit Fitnessstudios profitieren und somit etwas Geld sparen.

Vertrauensarbeitszeit

Wann und wieviel Du arbeitest entscheidest Du selbst. Du kannst dir deine Arbeitszeit flexibel einteilen und so Studium und Arbeit optimal vereinen.

Arbeiten auf Augenhöhe

Wir zählen auf Deine kreativen Ideen und suchen echte Teamplayer. Hierarchien spielen dabei für uns keine große Rolle. Gemeinsam schaffen wir mehr!

Homeoffi